Use It Up Challenge-Reveal!

About a month ago I told you that my cousins and I challenged ourselves to use some stuff up.

Yesterday Jamie posted some amazing recipes (I’m definitely making the broccoli quinoa casserole and farro!)

I too was not as successful with this challenge as I had hoped but let’s start at the beginning:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have a scrap wood situation at my house.  I blame my inability to get rid of even the littlest of scraps combined with my lack of storage space.

Someday that shed might finally be done!

But until then I have this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You’re thinking I created some awesome scrap wood storage from my scrap wood, right?

Wrong.

I made cookbook stands!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was my first one.  This is the only picture I have of it because it’s not pretty but it works!

I made another one for my parents for Christmas but didn’t take any pictures….

But, the third one I made is by far the best one!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This one happens to be a birthday present for Mrs. Hayes Amaze herself.  Hopefully she either doesn’t get around to reading this for a couple of days OR she doesn’t care if the surprise is ruined 😉

I made this one from an old drawer bottom and some pieces of scrap wood.  I figured it out as I went and impressed even myself when it mostly worked out!

Once the whole stand was assembled and sanded I painted it with semi-gloss white and the quote is from Julia Child and I just painted it on with craft paint.  Once that was all dry it got a couple of coats of poly.

I added the little binder clip at the top so they could attach any recipes they print out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The back is hinged so it can be folded mostly flat and stored out of the way when they don’t need it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But I think it’s also cute enough to leave out to display some favorite cookbooks

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I hope you like it Jamie!

**********************************************************

I will keep plowing through my scrap wood pile and hope to have a couple more small projects to show you soon!

-A

3 thoughts on “Use It Up Challenge-Reveal!

Leave a Reply

