Basement Workspace

I had a lot planned for today.

First on the agenda was replacing three light fixtures.  I had never done it before but YouTube videos lead me to believe that they were projects I could tackle on my own.

A co-worker of mine bought a house the same time I did and gave me some of the light fixtures he took out of his new house.  They have been in my basement for years so I decided it was time to hang them up!

We started in my bedroom.  The fan in here was old and ugly and didn’t provide much light or move much air.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh, and it was covered in dust.  To be honest, my mom tried to clean it and I stopped her-I didn’t want that dust swirling around my bedroom!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I realize that this chandelier probably belongs in a dining room but I really love it in here!  It’s so much brighter and much more attractive than the old ceiling fan!

Feeling (overly) confident we moved to the living room

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s not as ugly as the one that was in the bedroom but it also wasn’t pretty.  I replaced the shades and my mom painted the fan blades but it still wasn’t great.  Since the only air conditioning in my house is in the form of a window unit in my bedroom, I really needed to keep a ceiling fan in here.  Luckily, the aforementioned co-worker also gave me two ceiling fans that matched.  The plan was to put one in the living room and the other in the kitchen to replace this guy:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After what felt like hours I gave up trying to get the old ceiling fan down in the living room.  I don’t know why it’s so hard but my living room currently looks like this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I dismantled most of the fan but can not get that last piece down!  Luckily, my dad is coming over tomorrow to look at it so I can hopefully get these two light fixtures up before the end of my vacation!

One thing I did accomplish today was a work space in my basement!  I have been needing a place to work on projects so I can reclaim my kitchen:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have ample space downstairs so it was really just a matter of creating some places to put stuff and making a surface to cut on.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the space I had to work with so I moved the doors and mirror to the other side of that wall.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I started with the table I got at IKEA and added a pegboard above it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I added the wire shelves and my super fancy scrap wood storage bin.

I know I have more stuff to put up here but it’s spread throughout my house so as I find stuff I’m glad that I have a place to put it!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This space is going to be so nice when I tackle my kitchen island project!

Tomorrow’s plan is to finish the inside of the shed and maybe resolve that pesky light in the living room!

-A

2 thoughts on “Basement Workspace

Leave a Reply

