Kitchen Island Reveal

Right after my dad got out of the hospital last fall we stopped by an awesome store where I picked up a console table.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It sat like this in my kitchen for months.  Yes, paint half peeled from the top and sawdust everywhere (it made a great workbench!)

When I took vacation time last week my main goal was to finally finish this project!

I started with taking off the top and the feet.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I added new feet (just a 4X4 post cut into 5″ blocks) and started priming everything.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I couldn’t really tell if this was made from wood or plastic but I do know that it used to be white and that there was a really bad faux finish painted over it.  I also knew that I didn’t want to sand it. So I did some research and found that this

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

was the answer.

It took three thin coats but if it keeps the new, fresh white paint on the island, I don’t care.  Fingers crossed that this product lives up to the hype!

Once it was primed I flipped it over and realized that it wasn’t the right height.  So, I had to prime (x3) and paint (x2) four new feet which set me back a couple of days.  I should have known, this project was going too smoothly!

Once the feet were dry I attached them, flipped it back over again, added the brackets  and touched everything up.  Then I measured for the top, sanded and stained the boards and attached them.

And I didn’t take pictures of any of those steps.  (Except the ones I shared on Instagram @awize)

But, all of that brings us to here:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(that wine isn’t a prop, I earned it today!)

I simplified what I had underneath because I wanted to make sure there was room for people’s knees!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t love that the stool seats are so light so at some point I’ll probably sand them down and stain them to match the island top (Jacobean.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m pretty much obsessed with this!

The crates are painted Valspar’s La Fonda Turquoise (which I chose because I have actually been to the La Fonda  and I think that’s as good a reason as any to pick a paint color!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Obviously I’m thrilled with how this turned out but you’ll be surprised by who might love it more:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Aw Prudie!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Worth the wait?  I think so!

-A

2 thoughts on “Kitchen Island Reveal

Leave a Reply

