Vanity Makeover: 1

My good friend is getting ready to redo her daughter’s room.  She’s wanting to “grow it up” and give her a room that can last her through high school (and I imagine still be appropriate when she comes home while she’s in college, too!)

She knew she wanted a vanity  and had been cruising the Facebook online yard sales in our area for months.  One night I saw an awesome antique for $50 and sent her the pictures.  She picked it up a few days later and brought it to my house so I could get started stripping it and making it over.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Isn’t it amazing!?!

*note, my basement has little natural light so these pictures aren’t the best…sorry!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Claw feet!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cool rope trim detail!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ahhhhhh!

I’m starting out with a citrus stripper to get into the nooks and crannies but it’ll probably need a good sanding and I’ll have some repairing to do to some spots.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Because some sections are so rough I don’t feel bad painting the whole piece again (once it’s all cleaned up!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At some point in this table’s history someone replaced the drawer pulls…with ones that aren’t the right size…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I immediately started stripping this and was pleasantly surprised to find that the paint slid right off!  I really can’t wait to see this thing down to the bare wood so I can see what I have to work with!

Because it’s not my kid or my house, my opinion means nothing but if it did, this is what I’d do:

grace

The mom knows she wants a grey and aqua color scheme so I ran with that.  Luckily she loved my idea of painting the vanity aqua so once she picks a bed set I’ll go out and pick a paint color.

I’ll probably post one more update once it’s all cleaned up but I want to keep the final reveal a secret until the mom and daughter see it!

-A

 

4 thoughts on “Vanity Makeover: 1

Leave a Reply

