This Ain’t Fun No More*

I’m still painting.  At first I was so excited, remember?  Now I’m just over it.

My mom has been helping, thank goodness, I’d hate to see how much I would have left to do without her help!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We were hoping that we’d be able to get to the tops of the eaves ourselves but it turns out we’re both too scared to be on the ladder when it’s that high up.  I’m working on finding someone I can pay to just finish this off.

I’m working on building some planters to replace the grey flower pots and I want to move that window box inside so I can paint it yellow over the winter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

That corner is haunting me.  It’s so small but I know it’s going to take the whole day to do.  I also added that address plaque but it’s too big.  I have another one I still need to paint and put up…eventually.

That light blue you see?  That’s all that’s left (except the tops of the eaves.)  Maybe we’ll get it done this weekend!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The back is totally done.  I climbed up on my closet and got that eave on Sunday.  I wish they were all that easy!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

See that little door up there?  That’s my only access to my attic.  Until last weekend, I had never been up there.  I have dreams of finishing it but looking at it made me realize that it’s going to cost a whole lot more money and time than  I have right now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Plus I should probably invest in better insulation before I really pursue that project.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The good thing to come out of this gross excursion to my attic?  That brick up there.  There’s a square bump out next to my fridge in my kitchen which I suspected was an old chimney and last weekend I got my confirmation.  So, this winter I’m busting down that plaster and exposing this brick!  I’m so excited!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So there you have it.  If winter runs late, if I can find time this weekend, if I can find someone who isn’t afraid of heights, I just may finish this project this year!

-A

*Every time I paint I sing this line from this song

 

One thought on “This Ain’t Fun No More*

Leave a Reply

